Risi Competizione’s Ferrari Takes the Green at Sebring

Primary tabs

March 23, 2015 -- Each new Green Racing season brings with it new opportunities for manufacturers to demonstrate advanced transportation technologies and renewable fuels, and the Twelve Hours of Sebring race at Sebring International Raceway provides excellent testing grounds.


Built on a former WWII bomber training base, the Twelve Hours of Sebring held on a twisty, bumpy and punishing circuit is widely held to be the toughest endurance race in the world. When a car with advanced technologies is a top finisher in this race you can be sure that those technologies have taken a giant step towards production. Corvette Racing and Risi Competizione proved the abilities of their teams to compete and succeed under these demanding conditions.


Risi Competizione's Ferrari F458 Italia emerged as the winner of the DEKRA Green Challenge Award. The award recognizes the most "clean, fast, and efficient" GT Le Mans (GTLM) competitor in each TUDOR Championship race as determined by the Green Racing Protocols established by the Department of Energy, Environmental Protection Agency and SAE International. The Ferrari, along with all cars competing in the TUDOR Championship’s GT Le Mans class, competed using E85, a blend of 85 percent denatured ethanol and 15 percent gasoline. Automotive manufacturers are testing and proving these alternative fuels on the track as they develop sustainable transportation for consumer vehicles.


Donald Nicholson, President and Chief Regional Officer of DEKRA NA said in a recent press release:

"As a leader in automotive emissions and safety testing and sustainability, we are proud to sponsor the DEKRA Green Challenge Award, which recognizes these elite green racers."


Another high performance team, the No 3. Corvette Racing Corvette C7.R driven by Antonio Garcia, Jan Magnussen and Ryan Briscoe reigned victorious as the overall race winner in the GT Le Mans class, marking their ninth win at Sebring dating back to 2002.


Congratulations to the winners of the TUDOR Championship at the Twelve Hours of Sebring!