About the U.S. Department of Energy Collegiate Wind Competition

  • Illustration with a summary of the Collegiate Wind Competition and its principal contests. Challenging collegiate teams to design and construct a lightweight, transportable wind turbine to power small electric devices. Build and test a wind turbine, debat
  • .

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Collegiate Wind Competition challenges undergraduate students from multiple disciplines to design, build, and test a wind turbine to perform according to a customized, market data-derived business plan; and to deliver formal presentations demonstrating their knowledge of key market drivers and deployment acceleration opportunities.

The theme of the 2014 Collegiate Wind Competition was to design and construct a lightweight, transportable wind turbine that can be used to power small electronic devices. The inaugural competition was held May 5–7 alongside the American Wind Energy Association's (AWEA) WINDPOWER® 2014 Conference & Exhibition at Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas.

The Energy Department named Pennsylvania State University as the winner of the 2014 Collegiate Wind Competition. Rounding out the top three finishers was the University of Kansas, in second place, and the University of Massachusetts Lowell, in third. In addition, the following schools were recognized as top finishers in the following categories:

  • Market Issue Presentation: Pennsylvania State University
  • Business Plan Development: University of Kansas
  • Turbine Design and Performance Testing: University of Kansas

Pennsylvania State was also crowned as the People's Choice winner—the audience's pick for the best business "pitch" presentation.  See the U.S. Department of Energy's press release, "Pennsylvania State University Wins Big In Las Vegas: Energy Department Crowns Collegiate Wind Competition Champion," for more information.

For more information about how the competition is governed, see the DOE Collegiate Wind Competition 2014 Rules.

The DOE Collegiate Wind Competition is facilitated by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.